History and Government

  • AD 896, the Magyars nomads migrated from the Carpathian Basin along the Volga River and the West piedmont of the Ural Mountains.

  • In 1000, the St. Istvan establish feudal state, became the first king of Hungary.

  • In 1526, after the Turkish invasion, the Hungarian feudal state disintegrated. Consequently, since 1541 Hungary has been ruled by the Turkish Sultan, Habsburg dynasty and El Daei Archduke. 1699 onwards, the whole territory was ruled by the Habsburg dynasty.

  • In 1848, the European Revolution broke out, and the Republic of Hungary was established in April 1849.

  • Dual Austro-Hungairan Empire was established in 1867. In 1918, the Austro-Hungarian Empire was disintegrated.

  • Hungarian Soviet Republic was established in march of 1919. August 20, 1949, the Hungarian People’s Republic was established.

  • The nation is renamed to the Republic of Hungary on October 23, 1989 and began to implement political and economic system transition.

  • From 2012 onward, the nation is renamed “Hungary” from the Republic of Hungary.

    Hungary joined NATO on March 12, 1999 and joined European Union on May 1, 2004, On December 21, 2007, Hungary joined the “Schengen Agreement”.

Hungary implemented a multi-party parliamentary democracy. The President is elected by the parliament every five years; however, it is only a figurative role. The president has the right to appoint a prime minister who is also the leader of the dominating party in the National Assembly. The prime minister is responsible to appoint and possess the right to dismiss the Minister of Internal Affair. Hungary’s main political parties are the left-wing Hungarian Socialist Party, the right-wing Democratic Youth Federation (referred to Fidesz), and hundreds of other political parties of different size.

The Parliament adopts an unicameral parliamentary election every 4 years for a total of 386 seats. The National Assembly is responsible for drafting and adoption of the law, and is the country’s highest authority. Any party must win at least 5 percent of the vote to enter parliament. The Constitutional Court consists of 15 members, and has the authority to decide whether a bill can be ruled unconstitutional.

In the 2010 congressional elections in Hungary, Fidesz obtained 227 seats, becoming the largest party in Hungary. Hungarian Socialist Party won 59 seats as the second largest party. In the 2014 congressional elections, Fidesz obtained 133 seats in the new parliament’s 199 seats. In the election, Prime Minister Viktor Orban’s government was re-elected leadership.

Hungary – World of Potentials
Budapest Business Region
- Get Engaged
Little Secrects of Budapest